Government should spend money on railways rather than roads

to what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Economic growth of a country is ensured with the help of multiple sectors of the government such as manufacturing, infrastructure, transportation, imports and exports. Among these sectors, apex share is held by transporatation which makes life more sophisticated. I completely agree to the statement, government should allot more budget to pave and maintain railways than to roads.

Railways aren’t a form of transportation medium that only carries massive frights and aids in connecting remote locations within a country. Nevertheless, the crowded metropolitan cities like Delhi, Chennai, Bangalore in India has been successful in equpping intercity rail and metro routes that proven to be extremely beneficial to its inhabitants. These are some well known advantages of railways including electric trains which has minimal environmental impact, higher good and passangers carrying capacity, cost effective transportation for low wage workers.

By contrast, people always have some unpleasant memories by road travel, especially in recent times most cities are packed and roads are always overcrowded with vehicles. Reasons, why road transport shall not be appropriate for most countries, are higher price per distance travelled compared to railways, unpresidented hike in petrol and disel price, traffic during peak working hours, as well as the notorious noise and air pollution which raised global activists concern.

To conclude, government and policy makers ought to focus on controlling detrimental side effects of road transport by decreasing the funding, thereby budget can be diverted into railway industry for building better envirornment and people friendly railways.