Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Due to the significant and constant increase in population, traffic congestion has become one of the most prominent problems in every part of the world, especially in densely populated areas. Many people, therefore, hold the belief that building and upgrading more roads would be a suitable solution to tackle the problem. Others, however, suggest that governments should invest money in the construction of railways.This essay will outline some reasons why I side with the latter view.

To begin with, since roads are already too crowded, the erection of new train lines would encourage more people to switch to this means of transportation. As a consequence, this would reduce the strain on roads and enable commuters to move more efficiently. Another benefit of spending money on railways is that trains could reach a far higher velocity than cars and motorbikes, so passengers could arrive at their destination in a shorter time. What is more, when using trains, people don't have to monitor their own vehicles and observe their surroundings to avoid possible accidents. This means that they have a chance to comfort themselves during the trip by listening to music, or just simply enjoying the sceneries on the way.

Moreover, the most crucial benefit of building more railways is that trains are more environmentally friendly. Being able to carry a huge number of passenger at the same time, trains would make the amount of gas emission created per person considerably small, and motorbikes or cars would be nowhere near as eco-friendly as trains. Additionally, since trains usually use separate lanes and have fixed itineraries, they are very unlikely to cause any accidents such as crashing. This would ensure the safety for passengers to a far more extent than other types of vehicles on the road would.

To sum up, there are many advantages which investing in railways could bring, and this mean it would also provide better transportation experience for commuters, in terms of efficiency, safety and environmental issues. I, therefore, strongly believe that governments should spend their money on the construction of railways to improve the current situation.