There is a substancial growth in the number of people who buy things they require from online stores. While this trend has few benefits such as, it saves time and also provide a large variety of goods, it still has few drawbacks.

Firstly, purchasing from an online store saves a considerate amount of time as we need not travel and search for the items. We can order anything from sitting anywhere and within no time the order is delivered to your doorstep. As everything is available online you need not visit multiple stores to buy different items. For example, you can buy vegetables, clothes, groceries etc online rather than separately visiting each shop. This also saves the fuel needed for to and fro travelling and thus protecting the environment. Another point to consider is that, you can have a huge range of varieties to choose from. To illustrate, you can select any item of your choice from any size small to large and of any colour you wish which is technically not possible to find in an offline store. Hence it becomes easy to select and buy your desired product.

On the other hand, the major drawbacks of online shopping are the quality of the product and return policy of the store. It is often difficult to analyze the quality of cloth visible on the website or the accurate size of the shirt that will fit you. Sometimes, the product you ordered will be different from the product you received. This leads to a major dissapointment and customer disatisfaction. The other disadvantage is the process of returning an item. Different stores have different return policies for their stores. Few provide only replacements while few charge certain amount to pick up the item to be returned which takes few additional days and later if you are still not satisfied with the exchanged item, you need to compromise with it. Thus, one must be very careful with the terms and conditions of the store before they purchase anything through online.

To conclude, we can say that though we have many benefits from online shopping we cannot ignore the disadvantages occuring from the return policies and the lack of tranparency while purchasing things online.