The impact of humans on the environment is a widely debated and contemporary issue. Whilst it is unarguable that large organisations and the government can play the biggest part in improving the situation, it is also possible that individuals can contribute.

Firstly, corporate businesses can pioneer positive change. With tremendous numbers of employees and excruciating amounts of waste, they have a significant impact on the planet. If, for instance, recycling bins were provided, and reusable drinking containers encouraged, there would be a substantial improvement in the reduction of and reuse of waste.

In addition, governments tend to have an extraordinary influence on the country, as a whole. They could introduce environmental initiatives through the media or make changes through legislation. During the governmental smoking campaign, laws were introduced about where people were permitted to smoke, paired with advertisements on the health issues caused by it. This led to a tremendous reduction in smoking. Therefore, this might be the most effective way of environmental improvement.

Although governments are best placed to initiate change, it should also be the responsibility of the individual. The impact of house hold waste on the environment must not be ignored. A recent BBC documentary explored the large quantity of single use wipes that were used by one small town. These are constituted of 90% plastic which is bad for the planet as it takes years to degrade.

In conclusion, caring for the environment should be the priority of both large businesses and the government. I believe that these areas are where the most vast improvements can be made, however individuals must also play their part. If everyone could take steps to save the planet it might be preserved for years to come.