Internet crime is increasing rapidly as more and more people around the world are accessing the internet.

What are the worst internet crimes?

How can they be preventend?

In the last decade global access to the internet has increased, causing the growth of internet crime. Some of the crimes are minor, but others, such as sexual harassment and the spreading of fake news, are problems that have to be addressed.

Parents are always worried when their children start to surf the internet on their own and they have the reason to. One of the most common crimes on the internet is sexual harassment; a crime that has risen a lot in recent years thanks to the birth of social networks. Usually, teenagers are the ones that are affected the most by this phenomenon and it is not always easy for a young girl or a young boy to understand what is happening and to talk about that with their parents or with the authorities.

Another big problem with the internet and in particular with social networks, is the spread of fake news, invented with the aim of influencing public opinion. Certain people in order to make their personal interest make up news and exploit the fact that thanks to social networks, they will become viral in few hours.(<--Reword to: "Some people exploit social networks and news sites by providing fake news that quickly goes viral.") People on the internet are usually not aware of this possibility and do not check the source of the news to verify the authenticity.

Social network administrators have to be aware of these problems and prevent them in a shared effort with the police. More control is needed and it is necessary to make people aware of these crimes in order to recognise them. It is also important to enhance the possibility of police intervention by increasing punishments as a deterrent.

In conclusion, the rising popularity of internet crimes has to be faced more severely and the social networks themselves have an important role to play in this.