The internet has vastly increased our access to information. To what extent do you think this is a good thing?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

It is widely suggested that the advent of the Internet has dramatically promote exposure to vast quantities of information among citizens of the civilized world. Personally, I think that this is definitely a merit.

Firstly, from the perspective of a scientist, I believe that the Internet has been the catalyst for countless major scientific breakthroughs made in recent times. This is because as scientific papers and journals are uploaded and constantly updated on websites available for public viewing, remarkable transformations for laboratorial protocols and research directions in labs around the world have been enabled. For instance, thanks to the publications accessible on the Internet, the sought-after flow technology is being applied in chemistry laboratories around the world as it helps to improve chemical reactions' efficiency. This has resulted in more synthetic compounds that can be used for medical treatments of countless diseases.

Secondly, as a consumer, I also believe that the Internet has also bridged a much better connection between consumers and suppliers. Companies in all spheres of life are putting interesting advertisements of their products online to reach more customers and thanks to this practice, buyers have not only more shopping options but also the knowledge to make informed decisions. A good example here is the success story of Nike, a sports apparel brand that has been utilizing the power of social networking platforms such as Facebook to promote brand recognition among Asian markets. As a result from that, Asian consumers could now enjoy sports clothing items such as shoes or gym shirt that are of considerably higher quality than the products they were subjected to buy in the past.

In conclusion, from my personal knowledge, I can only conclude that as the Internet increases availability of information, numerous positive developments will inevitably take place.