It is more important for schoolchildren to learn about local history than world history. To what extent to you agree or disagree?

There is a school of thought that young students should learn about the past of their own country first rather than the international history. I completely agree with this opinion.

The most compelling argument for putting local history above international one in school is that it would be easier for pupils to learn. They have been unconsciously familiar with and strongly connected to the language and culture of their own country during early childhood, which help sets a solid foundation to learn national history. Memorizing historical names typifies that, in which students would find it easier to remember the terms they can already write down and pronounce more than doing the same with what coming from other languages.

Another more pragmatic reason for prioritizing local history is that it is usually easier to teach. Generally, history educators are more knowledgeable about the past of their own country than of other civilizations. In addition, materials and facilities for teaching local history are often more available than for foreign ones. Therefore, it would be difficult to reverse the condition to put more weight on the history of the world.

Finally, global history should not be learnt by young schoolers because of its complexity. Most learners at early ages are not capable of connecting different historical events on the world stage, which could only be accomplished by those who are more grown-up. As many pedagogical studies have suggested, only students from secondary levels should learn main events throughout human history related to their country.

In conclusion, I absolutely believe that history lessons delivered at school should be more about the past of the nation than that of the world.