Sometimes, people have to live in a country that require them to speak in nonnative language. There is a view that this situation may cause significant social and practical problems. I completely agree with the view that having to speak in foreign language will cause significant social and practical issues.

Firstly, the reason why speaking foreign language will cause social issue to occur is because language holds important role in communication. All people use language to express what they want to say. Thus, if one does not master the language where most people use, he will most likely be isolated from any social group. This can happen everywhere, including in workplace and in neighborhood. For instance, a guy from United States just moved to Taiwan where people mainly communicate in Mandarin Chinese language. Because he does not understand Mandarin Chinese, he finds difficulty in blending in and socialize with the local people.

Secondly, the reason why speaking nonnative language will make practical problem to happen is because language can not be separated from doing daily activities. Every activity, ranging from simple to complex, involve using language. This can be buying public transportation ticket, ordering menu to understanding public announcements. All of those activities require understanding language. Thus if one does not understand the language that is used in the country, he will experience practical problem. For example, a guy from United Kingdom just migrated to Japan, where almost everything is written in Japanese. Because this guy does not understand Japanese, he finds obstacles in doing his regular activity, including purchasing MRT ticket to ordering food in a restaurant. He faces practical issue because his regular activities are hampered.

In conclusion, I completely agree that residing in a country where people have to speak nonnative language may cause both social and practical issues because language holds important role in communication and language can not be separated in doing everyday activities.