In many cities the use of video cameras in public places is being increased in order to reduce crime, but some people believe that these measures restrict our individual freedom. Do the benefits of increased security outweigh the drawbacks?

Nowadays, many cities see the proliferation of video cameras installed in public places to combat crime. This phenomenon has spawned worries about the loss of individual freedom. Although there are certain demerits, I personally contend that the benefits brought about by a CCTV system eclipse the downside.

First and foremost, it is indisputable that the video surveillance system has proven to be an asset in the fight against crime. The first supporting reason for this is how effective it is in deterring potential criminals. As video cameras monitor an area constantly, they inflict a psychological effect on prospective lawbreakers to make them shy away from the protected zones. In reality, research has shown that CCTV reduces the crime rate in a neighborhood by 70%. Furthermore, widespread public camera implementation plays a crucial role in catching culprits red-handed and preventing further damage. This is because the system transmits live footage to a central office where authorised personnel observe the screens all the time and can see a crime unfolding. As a result, police can be mobilized instantly to the crime scene, catch offenders in the act and also stop them from further damaging an area. Last but not least, the footage from video cameras can be utilized to identify criminals and avoid prosecuting the innocent. For example, in many terrorist attack cases, there is a heavy reliance on video cameras to single out the perpetrators from millions of people.

On the other hand, some disadvantages are obvious but not only are these not worth sacrificing the benefits for but they can also be forestalled in many ways. The first concern raised along with the installation of public cameras is privacy intrusion. To be more specific, the discomfort from being watched incessantly and from the hesitation to freely express emotions through behaviors such as hugging, holding hands as well as kissing is what people oppose. Secondly, this system has been subject to misuse by corrupted individuals to serve their malevolent intentions before. Instead of using cameras to detect crime, some take advantage of their power to stalk individuals and extract personal information. For example, many people have found out that their daily routine is recorded and their everyday destinations as well as banking information are exposed. However, I believe the discomfort is a small price to pay instead of being robbed or murdered and incorrect uses of video cameras can be prevented with a strict procedure issued by governments to only allow authorised access and strong firewall to prevent hackers.

In conclusion, in spite of the justifiable questions surrounding video cameras in public places, I believe these systems should be approved widely, especially in crowded areas, to abate crime rate and create a safe living environment.