In many countries traditional food is being replaced by international fast food. This has negative effects on both families and societies. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

An increasing number of people today are in favour of visiting fast food restaurants due to their fast-paced lifestyle and irregular working hours. In many cultures, convenient food has posed a threat to the traditional cooking styles. Emphasis should be put on the potential problems arise from this change.

In some countries, for example, the United States, fast food has already been a health issue, where the number of overweight people is increasing dramatically. This is not only because fast food is high in fat, sugar, salt and calories but also due to they often come in large portion. More often than not, people suffer from obesity have a higher risk of contracting heart diseases and other health problems than those normal-weight people, meaning that the government has to pour more money in building healthcare systems, which may hold back the economy growth.

Another problem is that fast food has a negative effect on people’s lifestyles, including dietary habits. The characteristic of traditional dishes is their diversity of food preparation, cooking methods, and taste, which shows the changes of cooking culture in different regions. On the contrary, most of the fast food chains nowadays provide food from the United States or Europe, such as hamburgers, fried chicken and pizzas. As a consequence, people’s diet is becoming less diverse and some traditional recipes may disappear with time.

Furthermore, convenient food also exert an adverse impact on family relationships, due to the fact that people are not as willing to join family gatherings as they used to be. Generally, family get-togethers provide families with a precious opportunity to communicate with each other and improve mutual understanding. If people eat outside frequently, they may not keep update with the news about their families and pay less attention to the emotional needs of their families. This is the reason why family are becoming dispersed and many people are feeling lonely and helpless when confronting with problems in daily lives.

According to what has been mentioned above, I agree that the spread of convenient food is a serious problem as it not only threaten people’s health but also have a damaging influence on our cuisine culture and social relationships.