Many offenders commit more crimes after serving the first punishment. Why is this happening, and what measures can be taken to tackle this problem?

It has become a common phenomenon that criminals who finished their serving in prison tend to break the law and end up in jail again. In my opinion, not only insufficient rehabilitation services offered by government or non-profit organizations but also the nature of justice system design contributes to this tragic situation. In order to make a change to it, much efforts have to be taken by both government and the whole society.

One major reason why prisoners end up in jail again is that there is no effective rehabilitation help, which could help them restart a new life. Especially under the social norms which people would in general discriminate a person with “records”, which means criminals don’t really have a second chance as employers and family would distant themselves from offenders out of social pressure. There are many examples that ex-criminals walked out of cell and became homeless, resulting in committing another crime to make a living. Perhaps for them the indifference of society makes prison a better place simply for the purpose of surviving.

However, the rooted problem is that the design of entire justice system is to punish people who break the law instead of reducing crimes for the goodness of the whole community. Indeed, the fact that running a federal prison is a privatized profit-making business benefits from more crimes, which unfortunately makes the destiny of an offender doomed. In other words, there is no ethic or incentives to improve the lives for a criminal in this mechanism.

In order to change this awkward situation, it needs not only the reform of justice system which should be aimed at rehabilitation instead of punishment but also the corroborative efforts by the rest of the society to help them to restart.