Many university students live with their families while others live away from home because their universities are in different places What are the advantages and disadvantages of both situations

It is true that although many university students are able to live with their parents while studying in their hometown, others are forced to live away from home in order to pursue their education. I believe that there are benefits and pitfalls of both these situations.

On the one hand, if university students live with their families while attending higher education, it will bring both advantages and disadvantages. First, the most obvious benefit is that they can cut down the cost of living since they do not need to rent accommodation. In major cities, in fact, the cost of housing is expensive, which means students have to spend a great deal of money each month to get reasonable accommodations, if they can stay with their families, this problem will be tackled. However, there is no doubt that students may be over-reliant on their parents, leading to some detrimental effects. in some cases, students do not know how to take care of themselves well and they even cannot make their own decisions, although they are over 18 years old, which would make it difficult for them to enter the labor market later in their lives.

On the other hand, when students live away from home they also face challenges. One disadvantage is that learners can be distracted from focusing on their learning due to the reduction of parental supervision. A number of students have bad academic performances in the first year of university because they are tempted by something that they have not seen before, leading to the loss of their discipline, which makes them no longer interested in learning. Nevertheless, it would be better for students to study independently in another city. They are able to escape from the distractions of family life and have more opportunities to not only expand their social circle but also establish study routines, which may help them in their studies.

In conclusion, while there will clearly be differences in the personal circumstances of individual university students, some potential advantages and disadvantages of living at home or away from home can be identified.