Men and women are commonly seen as having different strengths and weaknesses. Is it right to exclude males or females from certain professions because of their gender?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples.

Write at least 250 words.

Stereotypes of gender-related ideologies perpetuate the notion of men and women possessing distinguished assets and flaws and thus, suggest that restrictions in career choice are needed for both genders. Personally, I strongly disagree with this point of view.

Admittedly, there is some truth to the claim that certain jobs are more suitable for one of the two sexes. For instance, men, with their genetic makeups permitting them to be potentially more resilient and robust, can tackle strenuous jobs such as logging or mining better than their female counterparts. Likewise, that textile factories may prioritizing recruiting female workers into their production lines largely owes to the common perception that feminine meticulousness can deal with delicate tasks more effectively than men's signature roughness.

However, in the vast majority of cases, the practice of gender discrimination in terms of employment proves to be groundless. In my opinion, it is not one's gender and its affiliated prejudices but one's competencies that should make the difference as either side of the two sexes can provide equally refreshing approaches to a profession. Case in point, that successful empowering female serial entrepreneurs such as Tyra Banks and Iman could build their own empires in the supposedly male-dominated world of business implies that these leading women could offer deeper insights into what their female clients really want for consumer products. Similarly, home-based dads, which are an actual occupation in modern days and used to be done by mainly women in previous societies, are more than capable of managing their homes with an extra set of skills in fixing domestic electrical devices that their female counterparts tend to lack.

In conclusion, I believe that despite possible differences, gender equality in relation to freer career choices should be encouraged and facilitated.