Modern technology, such as personal computers and the Internet, have made it possible for many people to do their work from home at least part of the time instead of going to an office everyday.What are some of the advantages and disadvantages of this sol

In current times, there are many staff members in a variety of industries who are now able to telecommute to work – not just managers and executives, as was previously common. People have different perspectives on whether working from home is beneficial or not. Some people think that working from home using computers and telephones is advantageous, whereas opponents disagree. In my opinion, this trend has both positive and negative aspects.

looking at the positive side of the aspect, work from home brings along with it great advantages. The best part about working remotely is that you get to work from anywhere and, you do not have to commute to work. Millions of people every day spend hours on traveling from their house to the office during the rush-hour traffic which can lead them to be to be stressed out. Obviously, you need not to deal with these issues if you turn your home into work place. Telecommuting will largely mean that it is not entirely necessary for employees to maintain a standard 9 to 5 workday like many office-based roles. For employees with life commitments, such as family or study, the flexibility of telecommuting means that as you work, you can handle and perform other tasks as well.

In contrast there are also many disadvantages to telecommuting particularly for businesses. The major issue that businesses have with telecommuting is the lack of supervision that executives and managers can offer over staff they have working from another location. There are very few ways to guarantee that employees are working the hours that they are required to, which is a risk for some businesses. A lack of supervision can also lead to a drop in work quality and efficiency.

In conclusion, as it was discussed above, working from home by technological developments can potentially have both benefits and drawbacks. Whilst teleworking can lead to reduce commuting expenses and stress, it may not be accepted by companies and businesses.