Most people agree that money cannot be happiness. Why is happiness difficult to define? How can people achieve happiness?

Happiness is a matter of choice and money, certainly, cannot be directly related toit.If people feel that the greater the amount of money they receive, the greater will be the happiness, will be a wrong perception. There are various factors other than money which can make people happy. This essay will shed light upon why people struggle to define happiness and what are the different ways to be happy.

Happiness is a subjective feeling which may be difficult to put in words. It is something that one experience and depends upon the needs of the persons. For example, a child feels happy when he is given a toy for displaying a desired behavior. Similarly, a professional will feel happy when he has been rewarded or promoted. Happiness lies in fulfilling the needs of an individual and will vary from person to person. A child may appreciate a candy but it will have no utility for an adult. Hence, people have difficulties in explaining what makes them happy.

There are various means by which people can be happy. One such way is job satisfaction. For example, if employees feel engaged in their jobs, feel committed to the organization in which they work and displays organization citizenship behavior, then they derive happiness out of it. Another factor that leads to happiness is love and affection towards one’s family. There are people who tend to find happiness within their families and friends. For example, spending time with children and taking them out on weekend gives a mental peace that leads to happiness. Yet another example could be people who are the lover of mankind. These philanthropists dedicate their lives to the society with an aim of giving it back what all they have taken from the environment. For example, a lawyer may start doing pro-bono work to the needy. Hence, they feel contended and happy.

To conclude, happiness is a feeling and hence it is difficult to describe and define. There are ways through which happiness can be achieved but it all depends upon the needs of the persons.