Motorways help people travel quickly and cover long distances but they also cause problems. What are the problems of motorways and what solutions are there?

In recent decades, the advantages of highways have been receiving a great deal of public attention. Although this trend appears some problems, there are some feasible solutions to address.

There are many problems that can be caused by motorways. First, since drivers have rights to ride at the high speed, it has been attributed to the highly increasing accidents recently. In fact, there have been more accidents recorded on highways due to the high speed, they find it hard to control their driving in the emergency, such as on rainy days, which leads to implicit threatens when driving on those streets. Second, although it has some benefits for commuters, it has some negative impacts to the environment. It means demolishing the current buildings and residential areas to make way for highways is the main culprit to serious pollutions, along with heavy traffic congestion on motorways, emitting miasmas and smug, which is detrimental to our environment.

On the other hand, we also have some practical resolutions to alleviate these troubles. First, by controlling the speed of driving, it is possible to reduce the number of crashes on highways. For example, governments can enact some strict laws that limit the driving speed, apply many heavy punishments and fines if some people who break law, which contribute to diminish the amount of highway accidents. Second, we should encourage to use vehicle alternative to reduce the level of air pollution. It means authorities should have long-term strategies to facilitate usage of eco-friendly cars and private motorbikes that consume electricity instead of petroleum, partly solving the burden of air contamination in recent years.

In conclusion, there are some problems and solutions related to motorways that should be taken into consideration. By applying some effective methods, we can make the situation better.