Nowadays, many people cannot read or write. What problems does this

cause? What measures can governments take to solve these problems?

Despite the widespread of digital facilities, illiteracy is still present. It takes results in serious personal and societal issues. However, there are steps can be made by governments to solve the problem.

Not knowing how to read or write will inevitably make people disadvantaged in many ways. In terms of individual consequences of illiteracy, dealing with bureaucracy is a nightmare. Adding your own signature, and your own personal information is often compulsory in applying for social welfares. Therefore, their own rights are lost, and sometimes they can even be fooled because of this disadvantage. On a social scale, if the percentage of illiterate people are high, the province, or even more serious, the country might not develop fast enough, and are often left behind. Having such a high number of workers without the potential to be included in more complicated tasks makes the possibility of constructing a stable economy nearly zero.

Since its devastating effects on the society, governments need to develop measures to fight this issue. One available solution is to increase funding on the field. Building schools and making slogans to motivate illiterate people to learn will definitely improve the situtation. Moreover, officials should be required to help those people to deal with the mass of paperwork at government office, in order to decrease their loss in rights, and discrimination in the society. Finally, basic education, which is up to high school in contemporary times, should always be available to every person living in the country. Both developed and developing countries should join hands to solve this problem, which are found in everywhere in our life.

Altogether, large number of illiterate people, who are disadvantaged will cause problems to the country, and measures should be made to help those people who can not read nor write.