Nowadays, not enough students choose science subjects in university in many countries. Why? Effects on society?

It seems to be an increasingly widespread concern for the downward trend of the number of students choosing science subjects in university in many countries. There are many reasons for this problem and it also leads to some effects on society.

There are two main reasons why fewer and fewer students choose science subjects as their major field. Science subjects are hard to master, it requires many specialist skills as well as good behavior when studying. To have good grades in science subjects, students need to learn by heart many definitions, formulas and methods to solve a variety of math problems. Not only commit theory to memory, students also need to think more logically to good at science subjects. If students are not interested in working with numbers, it will be difficult to get into this field. Another reason for not enough students choose science subjects in university in many countries is that career opportunities are not high for new graduate students. Many companies require candidates with a lot of experience even for an intern position. To achieve your dream compensation, students must be proficient in both theory and practice. Most of the students realize the hardship that they have to overcome to succeed in this field is too risky, so not many of them choose to study science subjects.

With the shortage of students enrolling in science subjects, it will lead to the following consequences on society. Fewer students select to study science subjects, fewer scientists contribute to the science field. In this modern world, the role of scientists is very substantial in the development of modern devices, robots or exploring extraterrestrial space. If the number of scientists decreases, it will be the result of slowing down the development process in the science industry. Another effect on society is that if one country does not have a strong science field when a new disease appears, they can not create vaccines, that country will have to import it from other developed countries with higher prices. It is also the reason that country can not develop quickly.

In short, with the decline of scientific learners nowadays, the Ministry of Education and Training should change the way they teach their students, motivate them to study science more to produce many excellent scientists who contributed to the burgeon of the country in particular and the world in general.