Nowadays, people always throw the old thing away when they buy new things, and we are living in a throwaway society. What factors cause this phenomenon? What problem does leads to?

It is true that people have a tendency to discard their old or damaged possessions these days when they own something new. There are various reasons why we behave in this way, and it seems to me that the effects are largely negative.

Many people tend to throw the old things away because of several reasons following. The bottom line is that the rapid development of technological industry. Everyday a wide range of modern gadgets is launched. We would find it easy to renew our household appliances and replace the old things by the most up to date ones. In addition, due to busy lifestyle in modern world, many individuals do not have sufficient time to repair objects. Moreover, these days while the higher spirit of competition of among manufactures worldwide, people earn more money compared to past. Therefore, customers who follow fashion can benefit from this competitiveness and buy a good product at a lower price, and they do not care about throwing old things away and buy the new ones.

There are also some potential problems at the cost of human activities. Firstly, this trend can cause serious environmental degradation. It is truly that the amount of garbage discharged into the environment is going up, which results in the insufficient room left; therefore, individuals have to burn it to make room for upcoming waste. By doing this, there can be a rise in the number of carbon footprint emitted into the nature, which can definitely exacerbate the current climate change. In addition, this issue can place a burden on the government as well as citizens. The government has to spend money on building up landfill sites, where can be used to constructed public park the standard of living of the residents instead. Therefore, it can downsize government budget allocated for public services, such as railway network or public facilities, resulting in a decrease in the residents’ standard of living.

In conclusion, it seems to me that the government and each individual should takes steps to raise community awareness, so that they can repair their old-fashion things instead of wastefully throw it away.