Nowadays we are producing more and more rubbish. Why do you think this is happening? What can governments do to help reduce the amount of rubbish produced?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The environment today is threatened by many factors such as air pollution and so on. However, among the most concerning is the increase in the amount of waste production. It is argued that the main causes of this are the availability of poor quality products and over-population. To tackle these issues, government's role will be analysed for viability.

To begin with, consumerism plays a key role in the rise of garbage around the world. Nowadays, people prefer replacing the old items with the new one when the existing one stops working, which in turn adds to the waste produced. In addition, the increase in the count of inhabitants means more people throwing the products which directly increases the quantity of sewage produced. Thus, it is apparent that both these factors are dependent on each other and thereby, contribute equally towards the rubbish addition.

To counter this, the government can play a major role by monitoring the objects manufactured by the companies. In other words, they can enforce these organisations to produce durable items which can be used for the longer duration. As a consequence, disposing of products will be minimised and hence, the amount of waste produced will also be reduced to a greater extent. Along with this, legal entities should concentrate on educating society about the negative effects of excessive population and work together for controlling this growth.

As it is clear, that population rise and less robust equipment's have led to the boost in the sewage within the nation. It is thus hoped that the government will implement regulations for developing sturdy products and thus, discourage people from creating rubbish.