In number of countries some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe that this money should be spent on improving public transport.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

The modern world is growing rapidly compared to that of the past decade, many villages are being converted into towns and many towns are growing into big cities. With the rapid expansion of cities, there are many problems related to transportation and food. Governments are spending millions of money on transportation projects like high speed rail. However, some people believe that this money should be spent on existing public transport.

In the present world, the cities are expanding merging nearby suburbs into it. This mass expansion often leads to congestion and pollution in the cities. Due to close proximity of many suburbs, there will be huge traffic jams leading to both air and noise pollution. Charges of existing public transport which includes buses and local trains are higher due to high demand in the peak hours. Moreover, many cities in the world cannot sustain the rapid growth. Hence, existing roads cannot be extended more, so even if the governments spend money on existing transport, there can be traffic problems and fatal accidents. Finally, with the development of the metro rail system in many big cities, there is a reduction in the travel time because of no traffic. Nonetheless, tickets are very costly.

Turning on to the other side of the argument, Many countries are planning to develop suburbs far from existing cities, they also plan to link the two cities by introducing a fast rail transport system. With the increased cost of housing and food in cities, people are interested in moving to the nearby suburbs. For example, living in Mumbai is costly, with the introduction of a rapid rail system between Mumbai and Thane, people are migrating to Thane. This kind of development also reduces population stress on metropolis along with pollution. Additionally, high speed transport can cost more compared to normal public transport, but daily commuters can be offered with daily pass at reduced prices. Furthermore, buses and ferries are run by humans which can sometimes lead to accidents and drowning, but in the case of a high speed rail system, there are very minute chances of accidents as they are controlled by signals.

To sum up, although public transport is used by many residents of the city, travelling with them is costly and time taking. Due to increased traffic jams and pollution, it is recommended to move out of the city. In my opinion, it is completely valid for the government's to spend money on new railway lines connecting cities as many people are interested in moving away from metros due to high housing costs.