It is argued that punishment should be given to the parents of fatty childrens for allowing their offsprings to become over weight. This essay disagrees with this statement because parents do not control what children eat at all times and genetic factors are also to blame.

Parents are not present when children consume most of their food. When children are at school they eat snacks and have lunch and the adults have no control over their dietry intake during this time. A child could consume the vast majority of their calories during these unsupervised periods, without their mother and father’s knowledge or permission, and much of this intake could take the form of junk food. A recent study found that primary school students consume an average of 74 percent of their daily recommended calorific allowance during school hours.

Moreover, genetic factors also determine the weight of a child. Some people have innate biological traits that show their metabolism or make it difficult for them to lose weight. In these circumstances, there is little parents can do to help their children maintain a healthy body mass index and they should not be held to account because it is the child’s genes that are mostly responsible. A recent research paper found that 27 percent of children in the United Kingdom who were morbidly obese had a genetic disorder that made them predisposed to carrying extra body fat.

In conclusion, parents should not be sanctioned if their sons or daughters are too heavy because they are unable to supervise their diet for the most of the day and genes play a role in determining the weight of a human being.