The advent of globalisation has virtually reduced the world to a village where geographical boundaries are becoming irrelevant. Nowadays, many people who work for international companies travel to other corners of the world as part of their work routine. Although these travels can be beneficial for employees, it may affect their family and children negatively. In this essay, I discuss the adverse effects of this issue.

Firstly, parents who have to travel frequently are often left with very little time for their family. Spending quality time with children is very important for parents' mental health so, being separated from children for long intervals leads to increased risks of depression and attachment issues in parents. For instance, a study conducted by Oxford University researchers suggested that individuals who spend more than 4 hours a day with their kids are two times less in danger of depression. Even more, it takes away the daily routine of a family. If parents have to take trips many times a year, they cannot schedule family events regularly and miss many opportunities for family gathering.

Secondly, children, especially the teenagers, feel a lack of connection when their parents are not around for the most part. Clearly, having strong bonds with father and mother plays an important role in children's behaviour. Many psychologists believe that children who lack a warm relationship with one of their parents, will find it difficult to develop healthy relationships in future life. In addition, children need the presence of an adult role model during their formative years. It is essential for their academic as well as emotional development. When parents travel excessively, they fail to spend quality time with their children. Of course, they provide financial security for their children but there is more to parenting than giving children pocket money.

In conclusion, although travelling for work adds up a lot to employees, it affects their family life negatively in many ways, especially if they have children. Not only being away from children raises feelings of anxiety and stress in parents and keeps them away from family routines, but also it deteriorates children's confidence in parents as role models.