People in community now could buy cheaper consumer goods.

Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

At the contemporary market, buyers have a wider range of choices for more affordable commodities.Although some benefits can be seen from the phenomenon, the drawbacks are more significant.

The provision of cheaper goods presents several advantages. Regarding individual economical merits, customers now can enjoy inexpensive purchases of diverse types of goods, which is particularly favorable for the households with limited incomes. On the societal level, the affordability of consumer products promotes people’s purchasing power, which contributes to the development of the economy. It is common knowledge that the market’s demand for products increases when commodities’ exorbitant prices are reduced. Therefore, people will be attracted to buying these products on a large scale, fostering the general prosperity of a country’s economy.

However, those advantages above still cannot overshadow the disadvantages. As the goods’ prices are inexpensive and the quantity is huge to satisfy the market’s need , yet businesses still have to balance their capital and generate more profit , the quality of commodities might be taken for granted. In the long term, without quality products , customers will gradually lose their trust in those products’ manufacturers, which directly jeopardizes the economy . Another repercussion worth mentioning is that the environment may suffer. In order to meet the enormous demand from buyers, companies have to expand their factories and accelerate their production process , which causes much harm to the surrounding due to their toxic waste and exhaust .

In conclusion, the benefits of cheapening modern goods should not be overrated as the disadvantages are greater.