People living in the 21st century have a better life quality than people who lived in previous times.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There has been a belief that the life quality of the 21st century is much better than that of previous times. In my opinion, I believe that due to the development of technology and civilisation today, our life is improved in numerous ways.

On the one hand, life in the previous times saw outrageous wars and the revolution of society. Therefore, citizens in the past had faced lots of difficulties and had gone through many revolutionary protests to survive in such an unsafe world and return the world to its peaceful days. In comparison with today’s convenience, people didn’t have the Internet for entertainment and education or they didn’t have as many transportation and appliances in the past years as in the Industry 4.0 world. People lived without what we consider “commonplace” in today’s world, thus, in the past, the rates of illiteracy and famine were increasingly high. Moreover, a few decades ago, wars still occurred and threatened citizens’ lives. People lacked food, education, transportation and convenient equipment and the economy was in its undeveloped era. therefore, their life quality turned out to be poor in comparison with that of the 21st.

On the other hand, in the 21st century, our life quality has entered a new chapter of life, it becomes more and more modernized and civilized. Contrary to those difficulties in the past, people, today can apply technology in education and medication and improve the productivity of these 2 categories. Online courses and distance learning helps students study at every place, at any time. Moreover, technology provides a wide amount of information to support students’ educational careers. Medication used to lack specialized equipment supporting specific diseases, therefore, it was not as well-equipped as that today. Special appliances have been invented to save thousands of lives from death. Also, the economy now sees a fluctuation, which means our life is getting better every day. Thus, the rates of illiteracy and death decrease significantly compared to those in the past. The life quality in today’s world surpasses the quality in the past in every category.

In conclusion, life quality in the 21st supplies people with the convenience, they have been craving, thus, the quality of past life can not surpass that of today.