Pollution of rivers, lakes and seas is a major concern for people who seek to protect the environment.

What are the possible causes of water pollution, and what effects does this have on animal life and human society?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Water is essential for every life forms that exists on the the planet. Many societies have developed by surrounding water bodies like seas, rivers or lakes. But now these water bodies are becoming polluted by the people. There is no doubt that pollution of water will eventually lead to disasterous outcomes. As many industries are throwing their toxic garbages in the nearby lakes or rivers, the environment is being polluted. As a result, many species of fish and other aquatic animals have either become extinct or relocated to deeper sea areas to avoid human contact. In some cases, people are drinking the polluted water and contracting different types of infection in the process.

There are a few industries which are being constructed near water bodies and they are choosing to dissipate their wastes products in them. As a consequence, the water bodies become polluted with the toxic ingredients and unfit for human and animal consumption. Diseases like cholera or diarrhea becomes pandemic in communities which are dependent on the polluted water sources. Moreover, when farmers use pesticides or fertilizers in their crop fields, the chemicals may get washed out to nearing rivers or lakes by rain water. These chemicals make the water in the rivers or lakes toxic and so rearing fish in them becomes impossible.

Although oceans do not has to suffer similar type of pollution, oil extraction may cause serious damage to the sea creatures. An oil spilage incident in the sea near Coasta Rica had resulted in the death of atleast hundread sea animals including whales. In addition, plastics and microplastics which are thrown in the rivers get carried out to the sea levels and often created issues with the sea dependent animals. For instances, sea turtles and jelly fish are the prime target of the plastic pollution.

To conclude, water pollution badly affects the life of every living thing on earth so the government of every country should come forward and try to solve the problem as one.