The position of women in society has changed markedly in the last twenty years. Many of the problems young people now experience, such as juvenile delinquency, arise from the fact that many married women now work and are not at home to care for their children.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

In the last two decades, the role of women has changed significantly. It is often argued that issues that teenagers go through such as juvenile delinquency, happen because most married women are in employment and are not available to take care of their children at home. I strongly disagree with this point of view, as i believe, research studies have shown that the environment can play a huge role in determining a child's behaviour and the fact that a child's behaviours is largely based on what they see and learn from the media.

Firstly, in this present era most women now have jobs and the idea that this change has caused children to now become delinquents is highly subjective and biased, as a body of research have shown that the environment of a child is key to influencing a certain behaviour. This means that when a child is exposed to an environment with less criminal activities, the child is more likely to shun deliquent acts. For example, i grew up in a good neighbourhood with high presence of police officers, this invariably, had a positve impact on my upbringing such as avoiding any sort of acts against the law.

Another view against this statement is that children mostly immitate what they see on television. In other words, when children watch movies and programs with a lot of violence, there is a tendency for them to copy and practice what they visualise. As a result of this exposure, children can become influenced and engage in unruly and criminal behaviours, which can cause harm and unrest in the society.

In conclusion, according to researh studies, major factors that can cause children to engage in delinquent activities are their environment and the media factor. In my opinion, i believe married women in employment have less of a role to play in contributing to the deviant acts perpetrated by children.