Nowadays, there are many articles talking about incredible rising in crime and how to punish. It is said that prison is not good way to rehabilitate some people. Even it just educates them in the ways of criminal. Personally, I think prison is the best penalty for serious criminals.

First of all, for the majority of crimes, they are appropriate to being in jail. Mainly so that the victim would be safe from further harm. Take a murder as an example. To be accused of killing means he can not be allowed to roam free and of course not have chance to kill or harm someone else. Prison sends out a strong message to would-be criminals.

Secondly, I completely agree with this statement is that a number of inmates are actually a danger to society. A typical example of this is domestic violance. A man who is father or husband often tends to be an offender and sufferers are mainly his children and his wife. Without being in jail, the offender has his freedom, he easily tends to humiliate and violent his victims who are always unable to make self defense and to be lack of concern from their communities.

However, some people argue that taking away one's freedom is just about the worst thing can do to a human. It is considered to be ineffective, as a high percentage of prisoners re-offend once they are released. It seems clear that another answer needs to be found. The problem is that the alternatives, such as community service, are often as soft option.

To sum up, I support letting most lawbreakers receiving prison. It is absolutely strict discipline, but it is necessary to keep society being safer from deliberate illegal act.