Recently, some office workers have begun to work from home instead of commuting to an office each day, and this idea is growing in popularity. What, in your opinon, are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend of working from home?

Thanks to computerization, working becomes more comfortable to many labours. For instance, nowadays some officers can work at home instead of commuting to the company everyday. This can bring many advantages and disadvantages to individuals and society.

By using labour-saving devices such as computer, fax machine or phone, people can work freely without any pressure at their home environment but still guarantee the quality. On the other hand, it is time-saving for the workers to have more leisure time instead of spending hours going to the company. Because of home working, the traffic jams can also be restricted effectively leads to some serious environmental problems like atmosphere pollution, traffic accident as well as natural resources overusing can be reduced.

Nevertheless, the ones who work at home have less contact with their co-workers. The office can be a convivial place, where friendships are formed and post-work social groups can help people to feel more included. Those who work from home do not have opportunities to make good relationship and learn precious experiences. In addition, even though home working gives them no stress, it can be easy to get distracted by some personal factors. For example, it is extremely tempting to switch on television or make a personal phone call. Therefore, the work they produce could significantly decrease if there was no work’s schedule.

In conclusion, this kind of working has both pros and cons. However, many people find it more difficult due to home distraction and less opportunities of studying experiences.