Research indicates that the characteristics we are born with have much more influence on our personality and development than any experiences we may have in our life.

Which do you consider to be the major influence?

Many societies nowadays believe that genetics play a more important role in an individual’s life. Although I accept the view, I still agree with that people could not decide whether genetic characteristics have more effects on a person, and this would be discussed in the following essay.

There are several reasons why people might approve the view that inherited characteristics could dictate one’s destiny. Firstly, as everyone has unique genes, people are different from others. While some people are easy going, others might be melancholic. Secondly, the right of choosing genetic characters is not given to people, and these characters would develop as people grow up. For example, a boy who possesses the outstanding gift for painting is possible to become an artist in the future.

In spite of arguments above, in my view, the situation and experiences that people encounter have deeper influence, Experiences are so powerful and unpredictable that they could boost or over-ride other influences, since every individual is always affected by his or her circumstances, such as education, workplaces. For example, a person who is born as a sanguine person, but raised in a broken family; therefore, he would become pessimistic every day. For another example, an individual who is not particularly talented but with top resources at his every life stage is more likely to succeed than a genius without any opportunities.

In conclusion, while nature could influence a person, in my opinion, nurture is giving more effect on person’s development.