With the rise in popularity of the internet, newspapers will soon become a thing of the past.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, in the context of everyone having their own smartphone with the internet, by which they can update news and information in the most convenient and fastest way, some people believe that newspapers will soon disappear. Personally, I do not agree with this opinion. This essay is to elaborate on some benefits of newspapers that make them still be in circulation.

To begin with, reading print newspapers is better for our health, especially, our eyes. Indeed, looking at the computer screen for a long period may train our eyes. This results in an increase in the number of people who are short-sighted or suffer other diseases related to eyes. In addition, for elders whose eyes are weak, newspapers are still the best choice for them every day.

Secondly, although the internet is more and more popular, not everyone has the opportunity to access the internet to read online newspapers. In fact, there are a lot of remote areas where people even do not have a chance to use electricity, not alone the internet. Therefore, newspapers are still a valuable source of information for such people. Besides, most elders who are not familiar with smartphones or computers also prefer print newspapers.

Last but not least, another reason that makes the newspaper will still be in demand in the future is that there are some special columns that are only published in print not online. And sometimes, these special features can bring to us a lot more value than some online articles on tabloids.

In conclusion, despite the increasing dominance of online news sites and their undeniable advantages, I believe that print newspapers will still serve other groups of readers.