school uniform

Wearing school uniforms from primary school to high school is a norm in various countries. Although students are recommended following this convention, it is a topic of debate whether wearing uniforms should be compulsory or not. In my opinion, designating and standardizing students’ wardrobe has multiple advantages.

On the one hand, one of the most significant benefits from uniform is that it eliminates economic inequalities between students and reducing the competition among students for showing off stylish clothes. In contrast, if the students are allowed to wear free-style clothes, they will be likely to strive up to keep up with fashion trend, which will thus cause distractions in studying. Therefore, wearing uniforms is a solution to promote the idea that students should be recognized based on their academic performance rather than economic status. Moreover, uniforms not only make students who come from low-income families feel less isolated or inferior to others but also prevent those from high-income families from being the target of bullies as all students look as plain as their peers.

In addition, uniforms are believed to have positive effects on discipline. For instance, when children are required not to wear make-up or jewelry, and wear uniforms instead, they are conforming to a dress code, which in turn conjures up thoughts of safety and order. As a result, they take school works more seriously by not wearing obscene, gang-related clothes, and improving attendance, which solves numerous discipline problems.

Nonetheless, there are critics, who view school uniform as a symbol of restrictive culture, and a determinant of children’s self-expression, which potentially suppresses student’s individuality. However, this argument is groundless since uniforms are varied due to different seasons and students are free to wear whatever they like after school. Thus, the impact of school uniforms on children’s individuality is extremely limited.

To sum up, from my point of view, wearing school uniforms should be retained as a rule not only because it unifies the rich and the poor, but also instills a sense of discipline. Additionally, the concern that uniforms will suppress individuality is groundless.