Some people enunciate the idea that governments should take responsibility for
conducting and controlling scientific research. I totally concur with this view
because the interference of governments will have profound impacts on the
success and usefulness of it.
On the one hand, the outright control of governments over the process of carrying
out a research project is of significant benefit. Firstly, almost every research
program requires an enormous amount of effort, so the co-operation of many
governments of different countries is of necessity. For instance, in order to find
out radical solutions to global warming, both developed and developing countries
have to do research to deal with environmental problems in their own countries.
The act of only private companies or small organizations is not enough. Secondly,
only the government is capable of providing enormous financial assistance to
various research projects. If a project fails to achieve its objectives, the
government has the resources to cope up with the losses incurred.
On the other hand, the main motive of the government in conducting research is
public welfare. If a scientific project is funded and managed by private
companies, its credibility will suffer. Pharmaceutical companies, for example,
tend to provide financial support for clinical trials that bring benefits for their
marketing strategies so as to maximize their profit. Without government
control, some companies could carry out illegal research related to nuclear
weapons or unethical human experimentation, which poses a serious
threat to society.
In conclusion, I agree with the idea of putting the scientific research conducting
process under government control so that the success, accuracy and applicability
can be secured.