Many parents smack their children when they make a mistake. These people believe that it is the optimal method for punishment. This essay will argue that smacking is completely unnecessary and how it could actually be very bad for children.

On one hand, people think that physical discipline is the best solution to enforce good behavior. Sometimes children get very spoiled if they do not have fear of punishment, and they could get very disrespectful, have extremely unpleasant manners or start behaving in unruly ways. For example, a parent could smack their children to prevent them from hitting their siblings. Hence, these are some reasons that can make people decide that inflicting physical punishment is the best way to control their children and establish absolute order.

However, such form of discipline is not only unneeded but also incredibly dangerous. First of all, there are other existing methods that could easily replace smacking, researchers and parenting specialists are continually working to create new ways that could make the lives of parents and their children much easier. Second, this type of punishment may potentially harm children; there are a lot of instances where children have been not only physically injured but mentally disturbed as well. It has been found that 40% of children that went through these types of punishments showed great signs of depression and mental illness. Therefore, it is highly advised that parents avoid such methods because it is pointless and could possibly endanger their children.

In conclusion, this essay argued that smacking is unwarranted and that it is very bad for children. Thus, parents should consider other forms of discipline. In my opinion, smacking children should absolutely be avoided despite how people might think.