Some cities have vehicle free days when private cars trucks and motorcycles are banned from the city center People are encouraged to use public transportation such as buses taxis and metro on vehicle free days Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages

In recent years, people have used cars as a means of transportation, which actually emits a great amount of carbon, so our air quality has worsened. The government thinks that stopping those private vehicles from entering the city center might be a good way to make our air quality better. In my opinion, this idea is completely infeasible despite some benefits.

Admittedly, there is no doubt that this policy can indeed reduce air pollution because driving less on the road will contribute to fewer carbon dioxide emissions. According to a report released by a city expert group in 2018, one liter of gasoline will produce approximately 2.67 kilograms of carbon dioxide, while current cars generally consume about 8 liter of fuel for 100 kilometres. There are about 10,000 vehicles in Vancouver, and each person travels about 30 kilometres per day. The total carbon emissions per day are about 60,000 kg. If private vehicles are banned from entering urban districts, we will reduce carbon emissions by about 60,000 kg. However, this does not necessarily imply that the move towards a vehicle-free city is utterly workable.

In fact, restricting all vehicle travels will severely increase the burden on public transportation because there is a surge in the number of new commuters who once depended on driving their cars to work or school. If the government cannot provide alternative methods of transportation for thousands of people to enter the city, the existing public transport and facilities will be overwhelmed. For example, it is not possible to simply add additional bus services in Rome, as most of them need to enter and exit the city during peak hours. As a result, the prohibition of driving in the city center will result in more protests and inconvenience.

In conclusion, both of the two views have their pros and cons, but still, I maintain that restricting all private cars is an unwise idea. Although this eco-friendly proposal helps create a less polluted city, it increases the burden on the public transport system and the poor. Hence, it is justifiable to argue that the government should take the negative effects into consideration before the implementation of this policy.