In many cities around the world, people are using bicycles to travel and commute daily more than individual cars while in other cities, the number of cars being used surpasses the number of bicycles. There are a number of reasons lead to these trends recently and personally, I would have to support using more bicycles and cars for daily transporting purposes.

In many rich and developed nations such as western countries in European Union, especially in Holland, people prefer to use bicycles to transport daily thanks to good infrastructure established by the government and for health purposes. In these countries, besides the lanes for cars and big vehicles, there is always a dedicated lane for pedestrians and cyclists. By using this lane, cyclists feel safer when traveling and are not afraid to be interrupted by bigger vehicles such as individual cars or buses. In addition, cycling every day is a good way to get fit and improve mental health during the current busy and modern lifestyle. While commuting in cars forces people to sit for more than one hour per day, commuting by bicycle gives people an opportunity to perform physical activities, reduces stress, and saves them countless hours from gyms.

On the other hand, in developing countries such as Thailand, Vietnam, and many countries in Southeast Asia, cars are more preferred than bicycles. One of the major reasons for this development in these countries is that owning a car symbolizes richness and wealth. They consider that bicycle was a symbol of their past poverty and thanks to the economic growth, they can now switch from slow-moving and old-fashioned bicycles to fast and fancy cars. Moreover, the economy of these stills grows in the fast-paced, people need to travel faster and farther to do their work so cars are more suitable than bicycles.

In conclusion, there is no doubt that commuting by car is faster than by bicycle in most cases, I firmly believe that cycling will become trendier in coming years. It allows people to improve both their physical and mental health in the modern lifestyle. Another crucial benefit from using more bicycles than cars is that it can help to reduce the pollution level by consuming less gasoline. Therefore, I hope more and more cities encourage this development.