Many sports fans are immersed in supporting their favorite teams and ends up seeing a lot of advertisements on uniforms, television or social media. While some people feel that there are several merits of companies sponsoring the sports, others argue that there are several drawbacks with this. Although I feel that there are more disadvantages than advantages associated with this, still I will discuss in detail on both views in this essay.

There are several advantages on companies sponsoring sports of which I will be discussing the most crucial ones. First of all, players would get access to many of the expensive sports equipments, which unless sponsored will not be affordable for them. In cricket, for example, batsmen require bowling machines during net practice to upscale their batting skills. As these machines are costlier, they can be bought only if any multinational companies sponsor them. Similarly, sportsmen need to spend quite a lot of money for participating in tournaments. If they had to fund for themselves, they would be distracted with these financial worries; however, with companies’ investments, players can focus completely on their game.

On the contrary, advertising through sports have adverse effects on the society. The primary disadvantage is that many of the harmful products are promoted through this means. Beer companies such as Kingfisher, promote alcoholic beverages through the games. Even though they are noxious to humans, repeated advertising subtly persuade people to buy them. Another disadvantage is that the companies’ reputation would be solely dependent on the player’s performances. When MRF sponsored cricketer Mohammad Kaif, who failed to perform well in the one day tournaments, the company’s reputation was adversely affected.

In conclusion, although there are many benefits such as access to better sports facilities and lack of financial worries for the players on companies sponsoring the sports, still the disadvantages of promoting harmful products and association of company’s reputation with the players’ performance outweigh the advantages.