Some countries achieve international success by building specialized facilities to train top athletes instead of providing sports facilities that everyone can use. Is it a positive or negative development?

Many countries in the world are seeking to attain achievements in different sports competitions by constructing and equipping more facilities for only specialized athletes in place of normal people. I believe that this action can certainly benefit the top athletes and their countries with reputation and rewards, however, the disadvantages of this phenomenon outweigh the good ones.

Building more infrastructure for coaching professional athletes is liable to be advantageous for top athletes to entirely develop their capacities. Apparently, due to the sturdy sports basis, these people could improve their abilities and enhance their skills to maximize their potential. Consequently, they can have their best performances in the actual contests and obtain good results, for instance medals, rewards, record-breaking, and reputation, all of which could contribute to the success of their home country in sports. This can be demonstrated by Anh Vien, a specialized swimming athlete, who was funded for training and promoting her ability in this field. As expected, she got five gold medals in Olympic and other international sports contests, asserting Vietnam’s position in the world.

Although the investment into the facilities for professional athletes is liable to be good for them, this direction could jeopardize people’s health and the credibility of the government. First and foremost, the lack of communal infrastructure could influence the generally physical health of the society. It is apparent that sports are vital to maintain a good body shape and healthy lifestyle, for example, doing yoga to have a sturdy body and exercising to enhance the immune system. Therefore, without qualified facilities, people can hardly do these activities to gain the benefits themselves, which then leads to the deterioration of health in society. Moreover, people will feel dissatisfied and inappropriate when the government does not make an effort to improve the quality of life despite the myriad types of taxes paid. Consequently, this will probably cause protests and strikes, which makes the social order in complete disorder.

To summarize, building specialized facilities for expert athletes could help countries to obtain international sports success due to the enormous potential, but it is not a good method in the long run due to the deterioration of the society’s health and the possible dissatisfaction of residents in communities.