In some countries, the average weight of people is increasing and their levels of health and fitness are decreasing.

What do you think are the causes of these problems and what measures could be taken to solve them?

In many countries, youths are increasingly becoming obese and their health and fitness are deteriorating. This essay will look at the possible reasons for these developments and will suggest solutions to overcome them.

There are two main causes of obesity and the deterioration of physical health. The main reason for obesity and the related adverse health effects can be found in the changing eating patterns of the population. Cooking with fresh ingredients is becoming less popular and many people consume too much fast food or convenience food from supermarkets. But these kinds of food, on average, contain significantly higher amounts of fat and sugar than freshly prepared meals and, therefore, are an important contributing factor to obesity. Secondly, there is a trend that young people are doing less sport in their free time. These sedentary lifestyles are due to the increase in activities like watching TV or surfing the internet.

Solutions to this problem have to start at a very early age. Both parents and the school have to put a high emphasis on explaining to children the importance of a healthy and balanced diet. The role of the school should be primarily to educate children about the merits of a healthy diet and the dangers of unhealthy food. In contrast, parents should provide their children with nutritious, freshly prepared meals and should restrict their consumption of sweets and fast food. In a similar way, early childhood education should also emphasise the benefits of doing good sports. At schools, there should be mandatory sports classes and children should be encouraged to become members of sports clubs.

In summary, the main reasons for obesity and low fitness level are poor nutrition and insufficient physical exercise. The best solutions are for education regarding nutrition as well as forcing and encouraging students to participate in sports.