With the growing population, the needs of the people are also expanding. People are getting used to unusual lifestyles such as night shifts and working extra hours. Moreover, to fulfill such people’s requirements, many businesses such as 24*7 stores have embraced the business model which requires their stores to remain open 24 hours a day and 7 days a week. This essay will evaluate the benefits and drawbacks of this phenomenon.

Firstly, the significance of opening the stores for more hours can only be seen mostly in the metro cities. Residents of these cities don’t have a work schedule and they always prefer to work more to make their ends meet. Hence, they require stores, where they could have some refreshments anytime and that is when these shops come into the picture. Apart from this, various pharmacies remain open to serve any sickly people in need and prove their long hours of business fruitful.

However, the biggest positive effect of keeping the shops open for more hours can be seen in the rising employment rate. As the government doesn’t allow anyone to work for more than 8 hours a day, owners of these shops hire more people to work in different shifts, which is a positive scenario especially in a country where the unemployment rate is so high.

Next, though the importance of such shops is undeniable there are also a few drawbacks. As these stores require their staff to work late hours, it raises concerns regarding the safety of the staff especially when they are women. Moreover, opening the shops for more hours also results in running the electric items such as AC and refrigerators for a long time that leads to higher consumption of electricity which eventually harms the environment.

Lastly, though everything has its positive and negative aspects, it is people’s responsibility to make them more people-friendly.

In essence, though business owners keep their shops and stores open for long hours in the hope of more business this routine doesn’t have many benefits expect only a few. Though keeping the shops open for a reasonable time is beneficiary for the people but it is not wise to keep them open all the time only for the handful of the people.