In some countries, online shopping is now replacing shopping in stores. Do you think it is a negative or positive development?

In some areas around the world, the existence of conventional stores is being highly threated by online commerce. I believe this development brings positive effects to people.

This new shopping method helps individuals get used to computer technology. Since the introduction of e-commerce, customers, especially older shoppers, have been continually encouraged to get accustomed to using the internet. More specifically, online customers can master search engines such as Google to find products’ information and reviews. Gradually, people’s skill in using computers and the internet will be significantly enhanced. Take my grandfather for example, ever since his first t-shirt purchase from a website, he has been enabled to explore anything via Google search.

Moreover, time consumption is vastly reduced when buying from online stores. While it takes some time to travel to a local shop, people can now quickly open their favorite site and start browsing products in a few seconds. My colleagues usually do this during recess as they do not have enough time to visit any storefronts. Ultimately, they always have their items paid then shipped by Amazon after five minutes.

Lastly, prices of products are made greatly cheaper compared to items sold in conventional stores. Thanks to the incredibly affordable cost of maintaining a website, shop owners can sell their merchandise half the initial prices and still turn a marginal profit. For instance, most online dealers sell a Fitbit smartwatch for 149 USD, while storefront owners still have to stick with the price of 249 USD. Both ways of selling earn distributors 50 USD a piece.

In conclusion, the fact that e-commerce is radically dominating traditional storefronts is a positive development as it promotes the advancement of technology as well as helps save people’s precious time and money.