In some countries, small town-centre shops are going out of business because people tend to drive to large out-of-town stores. As a result, people without cars have limited access to out-of-town stores, and it may result in an increase in the use of cars. Do you think the disadvantages of this change outweigh its advantages?

Due to the effects of urbanization, cities are now surrounded by suburbs, and these districts often feature a gigantic mall or shopping center. The concentration of products and merchandise in one location turns these retail outlets into attractive and fascinating destinations for consumers, thus increasing the need for transportations, especially cars. Although there are many benefits of these all-in-one areas, the existence of some noteworthy drawbacks calls for consideration of the issue.

Starting with positive aspects, it is apparent that an enormous mall offers a lot more choices for their customers, giving them great convenience. Moreover, large chain stores populating the shopping centers generally provide inexpensive prices, as a result of economies of scale. Furthermore, as cities spread out, a considerable amount of people reside in suburban zones that are closer to large malls than traditional stores situated in the city center.

Nevertheless, there are some highly unwished-for effects of this matter. In the first place, huge stores and malls are operated by megacorporations that run small shop owners out of business, while not returning so much to the local community. Another reason is the fact that as people are encouraged to drive more, this increases traffic congestion, individuals’ carbon footprint, and contributes to air pollution, while also making it obligatory to construct more roads, which worsens the problem by a lot. One more concern can be seen as citizens without private vehicles might get discontent, as they have much fewer options and be forced to buy whatever is near to them (Choosing to use public transportations in order to reach the shopping centers can raise their frustration due to the overcrowding that is caused by the growing number of personal automobiles).

Overall, while occupying everything in one location is undeniably convenient and favorable, the great harm to local communities can be clearly seen. With that being the case, the benefits of large stores are outweighed by the social and environmental damage they cause.