Some students decide to take one year off from education to go travelling or getting a job. People have differing views about this notion. I personally believe that its benefits would overweight the drawbacks.

The ones against the idea of one year break between school and university, consider it dangerous and distracting for youth. The most devastating fears of their concern are addiction to drugs or becoming involved in crimes which may happen to that youngsters. They are also worried about the case which scholars may get attracted by the real world, specially when they start earning money while working, or getting stuck by the interesting aspects of travelling. This opponing group believe that the potentially talented students could easily be distracted from their way to success, by choosing short-time enjoyments rather than involving in higher education difficulties.

While the other group opine that noble experience of travelling or working prior to commencing their university studies, would open new ways to scholars. Firstly this will lead them into the journey of self discovery and helps them to identify their strengths and weaknesses that surely influences major and career path choices with raising real passion, also gives them an insight of real life and its challenges which they would face after graduation. Secondly, this gap will widen their outlook by touching other cultures and expands their ability to adopt the unexpected and unknown as well. From my personal stand point, these wider perspectives would definitely have ample effect on their lives and problem solving approaches in the future.

To sum up, there would be immense advantages for this experience. Although, the significance of managing dark aspects of travelling or working for young scholars would be undeniable.