It is believed that enterprises, the economy as well as community can benefits from the population which are growing older. Although it is true that this trend can be advantageous to in terms of such aspects to some extent, I personally believe that the drawbacks are far greater.

The rise in the elderly workforce can be seen as positive due to some reasons relating to business, the economy and society. On a financial level, older staffs tend to have practical skills and valuable experience to pass on to the adolescents, thereby not only improving work productivity but also boosting economic growth. From a socially perspective, it is clear that the elderly people are more willing to participate in community service projects and voluntary activities than the younger generations are. In fact, while I hardly have time to join hands with social responsibilities, such as local environmental campaigns, my grandfather manages to engage in such duties whenever he can.

However, the arguments about these aspects given above can be considered to be more detrimental from the opposite angle, Firstly, this fast-changing world requires a great necessity for keeping up with the latest technology, but the older do not seem to be creative and innovative enough to adapt, which negatively affects the sustainable development of a particular organization or a country economy as a whole. Furthermore, from the social point of view, if younger green staffs have to compete with experienced ones, they might have little chance to get the vacancies, or must accept low-paying jobs. This leads to higher unemployment rates, resulting in a myriad of social evils, petty thefts and robberies, for example.

In conclusion, while the aging population is obviously of financial and social value for local firms, economy and community, I would argue it brings more disadvantages.