some people believe the aim of university education is to help graduates get better jobs. others think there are much wider benefits of university education. discuss both views and give your opinion.

Nowadays, with more students enrolled in universities, many people are concerned about the knowledge and skills available. While many people believe that university education should be job-oriented, I am of the view that the main function of a university is to focus on cultivating talents with comprehensive capability, especially creative and critical thinking.

There are those who argue that universities should focus on enhancing their graduates' competitiveness in job markets. They say this because it is indeed the demand of most students who prefer to receive a higher education and look forward to an access to better-paid jobs and higher social status. Therefore, to give the priority to the need of the majority, the university should put more emphases on skills and knowledge which can be useful and helpful in their future career development to help students find better jobs after graduation.

However, a stronger argument can be made from the opposite position that universities can provide much wider benefits. One significant counter-argument is that universities, as the ultimate representative of education, should breed students to be people who are good at thinking, learning and creating.This is because in this information age, every one can memorize facts and learn skills through various access, but not everyone is able to analyze and think creatively and critically. These skills are exactly what our university education should focus on building.

In summary, although universities play an important role in training and guiding students to workplaces, they primarily function as the place of training the mind. Anyway, what companies really need are not working robots, but creative people who can contribute ideas. Universities should be the driving force of nurturing these people.