Some people believe that allowing children to make their own choices on everyday matters such as food clothes and entertainment is likely to result in a society of individuals who only think about their own wishes Other people believe that it is imp

There is an argument that children should not be allowed to decide their choices about personal matters as it will only make them self-centered and egocentric, where others opine that children should be let to decide their own choices. I completely agree with the second view where children have to be permitted to pick their own choices.

On the one hand, there is a belief that allowing children to choose their own choices will make them to be self-absorbed and egocentric person, thus they should not be allowed to do so. Actually this is reasonable, because all humans are basically self-centered, so there will be tendency for children to always pick a choice that is beneficial for them. This will turn them into someone with self-absorbed personality trait. For example, there is a guy named Don. Since Don was still a child, his parents never require him to ask for their consent in deciding his personal life choices. As a result, Don often choosing choices that are only profitable for him, without considering others' interest, and this habit has turned him into egocentric child. However, it is still acceptable to allow children to choose their own choices because people's basic tendency to be self centered can be minimized if children are monitored and guided correctly when deciding their own choices.

On the other hand, some people opine that allowing children to pick their own choices is important, and will have significant impact to their growth. This is because, by familiarizing children to decide their own personal matters, with their parents' consent, they will learn to be independent and mature since their young age. Moreover, independence and maturity are not something that can be learnt overnight, so teaching them from early age is a good way. For example, a guy named Dean has been taught to choose his own choices since young age, and with his parents' approval. As a result, Dean has been used to be independent by deciding small personal matters. When he finally become an adult, he can be independent and mature guy who knows how to decide something correctly.

In conclusion, allowing children to choose their own choices will make them to be self-absorbed and egocentric person because humans are basically self-centered, so there will be tendency for children to always pick a choice that is beneficial for them. However, the tendency to be self centered can be minimized if children are monitored and guided correctly when deciding their own choices. If monitored and guided correctly, allowing children to choose their own choices will teach them to be independent and mature human being.