Development of the bicycle have been a breakthrough for modern society. Although some feel that usage of bicycle is a negative development, I, however, believe that it has a positive impact on our lives and environment for three reasons.

On the one hand, it could be argued that bikes and cycling itself is not always comfortable. Some people think that cycling is dependent on the weather, however, in many countries, with all four seasons, vast of population have learned how to cycle in any weather condition such as rain or snow. What is more, they also argue that most of the bikes are expensive and can be easily stolen. I concede that newly producted bikes are made from fairly expensive materials and costly equipped, nevertheless, highly protective locks and GPS tracking are essential parts of new bikes.

However, I side with those who believe that bikes benefit our society. It is fact that cycling is a great way to excise, not only biker is working out, but he is also exposed to fresh air as most of biking is happening out of cities. Moreover, in my opinion, cycling is a great way how to reduce congestions and also in many cases the fastest way of transport. People who use a bike as a way how to commute are more punctual that their counterpart using car or public transport. Bike can be easily store in the office or locked on sidewalk, but car parks are mostly full and not able to cover a demand, also public transport, during the peak hours, facing almost every day significant delays. Perhaps the strongest argument outweighing drawbacks is that bikes are probably the most eco-friendly way of transport. Bike does not require any artificial source of energy as a result, it does not produce any exhausted fumes like a cars, diesel trains or planes. Furthermore, bikes tremendously reducing number of cars in cities, which leads not only to reducing traffic, but also to decrease of pollutions in already highly polluted areas. Take, Holland, for example. Netherlands is very well know as a country where vast of population using bikes as a way of transport most of the time, despite the weather or occasion. As a result, Holland is undoubtedly very well known as a country with the clearest air in Europe.

In short, although, its undeniable that cycling is in many cases weather dependent and bikes are expensive what attracts many criminals. Therefore, on balance, I believe that biking is not only the most eco-friendly way of transport, but also makes people healthier and its a good way how to commute.