“Some people believe that capital punishment should never be used. To what extent do you agree or disagree with that?”

The issue of death penalty has been a subject of heated discussion due to its controversial character. While most of the civilized countries have put an end to this barbaric punishment in their legislations, quite a few nations, including economically prosperous, hold on to various forms of execution, with a growing proportion of the public advocating this measure.

The idea of eradicating capital punishment from modern legal practices appeals to me for a number of reasons. First and foremost, both criminal investigation and court proceedings are carried out by humans, and humans are prone to committing errors, in other words, “to err is human”. In view of this argument, the question arises how many innocent people can be murdered “by mistake” to punish the one who “deserves” it? Unfortunately, there have been such precedents, leaving the public and legal community in a state of turmoil.

However, it is perfectly comprehensible why the idea of depriving confirmed criminals of life is met with a wide support. Firstly, certain members of the public truly believe in the act of revenge, when the only adequate retribution for those guilty of sexual child abuse, or acts or terrorism with massive victims, is death. Another common misconception is that the implementation of capital punishment can serve as a deterrent, making life in the country more secure. In line with my conviction, however, both of these approaches are wrong, as there are no straightforward measures to curb severe crime.

To conclude, although there have always been a great deal of opposition to the ban or moratorium on death penalty, I am convinced this instrument is no answer to increasing crime rates. Not willing to be accused of leniency to criminals, I believe in their strict isolation from the society, and creating equal opportunities for everyone.