Some people believe that everyone has a right to have access to university education and that governments should make it free for all students no matter what financial background they have. To what extent do you agree or disagree

Many people believe that access to higher education should be given to everyone, and governments ought to abolish tuition fees, regardless of (irrespective of) students’ socio-economic background.

While this thinking is valid to a certain extent, I believe that provision of free-of-charge education would have an adverse bearing on students and society.

On the one hand, there are some compelling reasons why tuition exemption receives many approvals. Firstly, it opens the career prospect for a heap of students. Thanks to the tuition waiver, more and more people can be entitled to attend tertiary education, especially the underprivileged; therefore, they would be more likely to land high-paid jobs in the future.

Secondly, society can also benefit from the free-college policy. For example, a large influx of graduates, who are well-equipped with skills and knowledge from universities, would help create more educated workplaces, and thus, culminate in the thriving economy of the society and the countries.

On the other hand, despite the benefits I have mentioned, I contend that the abolition of university tuition would take a toll on the stability of society. Firstly, the numerous amount of higher education tuition may put a strain on the governmental system. In order to subsidize the university charge, the country’s coffers may be exhausted and, this change might lead to budget deficits, tax hikes or reduced well-fare, among others. Secondly, finding employment might become more challenging. As the gross enrolment rate in tertiary increases, the problem of abundance in bachelor’s holders has been controversial as it is, would become worse. Therefore, the job market would be extremely competitive even for applicants with college qualifications.

In conclusion, although it might be beneficial to waive tuition, I would argue that its drawbacks outweigh the advantages.