Some people believe that a gap year between school and university is a good idea while others disagree strongly Consider both sides of this debate and present your own opinion

People have different views about whether students should take a gap year between school and university. While some people reckon that a break from studying before tertiary education might bring immediate drawbacks , I am convinced that it is more likely to have long-term benefits for student's lives.

On the one hand, there are several reasons why some people might oppose that students should take a gap year before enrolling in the college or university. Firstly, costs involved in areas such as air fares, accommodation and living expense might be a burden to many young people. All this money has to come from the student’s family, or even from borrowings that will be paid later. Secondly, it is often said that gap years take a young person’s focus away from their study and allow them to get involved in distraction, namely travelling. This probably makes it harder to adjust to university life later, damaging their student’s academic performance.

On the other hand, I support the view that it is necessary for young people to take a gap year between school and university. Not only does it give them more and more opportunities but also advantages. Travelling or working helps the youth get practical experience which they can hardly get from the formal training at school. It is undeniable that pupils could take full advantage of this time to meet more people, visit fascinating places or find a temporary job. Thanks to their travel or work, they can find out suitable jobs, which match their interest as well as personalities. It is the useful experience that assists them to pursue their career in the future. This is because of employers often seek workers that have numerous work experiences and credentials.

In conclusion, I support that a year break should be encouraged to every high school due to its numerous benefits. Of course, as long as the year is well-planned, it will definitely worth for a while.